This post is the fourth in a series called “Pagely Answers“, which seeks to provide in-depth answers to questions that are hard to handle with a simple FAQ.
Pagely offers automatic updates of WordPress core as well as any plugins. Our system is uniquely designed to keep thousands of WordPress sites updated, secure, and running smooth. Our upgrade process happens in the background and is a non-event to you as a customer. Core files are updated as new releases come out and plugins are updated daily. We typically wait for stable core versions and will typically push a point release (e.g. 4.0.1 to 4.0.2) the same day. However a major release like 3.9 to 4.0 we wait many weeks until a point release like say 4.0.1 comes out. Major releases include a lot of features which may or may not need some extra time to test on our end.
Can I opt out of upgrades?
The Core will be upgraded regardless to maintain security throughout the service. All plugins within the official WordPress repository will also be updated. If you customize a plugin and do not want it overwritten at the next cycle you need to:
A) change the plugin folder and file name, as well as
B) change the plugin name comment header in the plugin file.
Are there rollback options?
We make nightly backups of everything to Amazon S3 with 14 day retention. So yes, we can always rollback if need be. However 99% of the time the issue would be with an older plugin not compatible with a newer version of WordPress. In these cases we have a handy self-service WhiteScreen Eliminator that allows you to reset your plugin and/or theme back to Pagely defaults. Nothing is deleted, it is only de-activated.